50-140 Sharps

Started by bigrockets, October 20, 2007, 11:56:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigrockets

I have a C Sharps Arms 1874 Long Range Express rifle in 50-140 3 1/4. I have been shooting this rifle for about 6 years. Here's what I've found that the gun likes and dislikes.

I first tried shooting a 450 grain cast Montanna Armory bullet in it with 125 grains of FFG. The gun was very inaccurate and I couldn't even get it on paper at 100 yards! I am using Bonanza brass, with a Federal 215 Magnum Rifle primer, and a cardboard top wad. The bullets were ran thru a .50 cal lubersizer. After much fiddling around I finally got it to shoot on the paper but the accuracy was terrible.

I next tried the Montana Armory 600 grain cast bullet with the same powder charge and got it to shoot on the paper about a 6" group at 100 yards.

In discussion with some other folks I learned that the 50s like heavier bullets. So I called Steve Brooks and he made me a mold for a 700 Brooks spire point. What a beautiful bullet this mold throws too! Now the gun shoots 4-4 1/2" groups at 100 yards and I think it's capable of better.

This gun produces horrendous recoil. I am not recoil sensitive having shot a Weatherby 460 and a 338-378. After shooting 20 rounds thru the Sharps it makes my entire right shoulder and deltoids black and blue. Does it bother me that much ? Nope, I love shooting this gun. If you are the least bit flinchey with a lighter gun then don't shoot this thing. If you want to try something really unique then by all means shoot this big fifty.

According to the Winchester book the 50-140 was introduced as a cartridge for the 1886, there seems to be some confusion as to why this cartridge was chambered in the Sharps rifle. Some people even confess that they don't know where this cartridge came from. I'm not sure either, I'm just telling you that I read it in George Maddis's Winchester Book.