My Canadian Wolf

Started by Dr4Body, March 17, 2017, 09:10:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dr4Body

[FONT="]A guide...for Novice Wolf Hunters, [/FONT][FONT="]
By: W. Trent Saxton, DC. ME.

June 2016.My bucket list had only one item and that was Canis Lupus or the Canadian grey wolf. I started my wolf hunting journey many years before I ever stepped off the plane in Alberta, Canada. I studied the wolf species, locations to hunt, bullets to use, people that might have helpful knowledge about wolf hunting. I asked questions and was constantly reading about the wolf populations in the States or Canadian Province’s. Where was hunting wolves legal? When was the best time of year to hunt wolves and how would weather affect their pelts? Should I go to Idaho, Montana, Alaska, or Canada? It did matter, I wanted success and I wasn’t getting any younger. My father was whispering to me, “no more excuses”. It was time to go.
The perils of picking the wrong guide (because you never know who you are dealing with over a phone) can cost you your dream. It was June 2016, when I deposited half of my trip payment for a February 2017 wolf hunt outside of Kelowna, British Columbia. The broker at[/FONT][FONT="]Global Sporting Safaris, Inc. said December would be the final payment. [/FONT][FONT="]
[/FONT][FONT="]Those months would pass slowly but I filled the weeks and months by packing and procuring the right socks, gloves, head gear and even snacks that I would want for this hunt. I had many thoughts of how I was going to enjoy this hunt. The weather conditions, the blind, the timing, the shot, the size of the wolf, the smell, the relief, the accomplishment, the end of all the whispers. These thoughts and emotions passed endlessly through my mind while waiting for eight long months. I was determined to finish this once and for all. [/FONT][FONT="]